Home > Catch-Up, Music > Playing Catch-Up: Part XX

Playing Catch-Up: Part XX

all_the_light_above_it_tooArtist: Jack Johnson
Album: ‘All the Light Above It Too
Year: 2017

I keep waiting for the day I’m disappointed in listening to a Jack Johnson album but that day has not come to pass. While others of his ilk tend to regress in their style, Johnson seems to find a way to keep it fresh while also familiar and always amiable. This album, Johnson’s seventh (!) sounds like it was made by a guy who isn’t burdened by fame, expectations, or even his own sense of self. He is just making music he wants to make and damn the critics. Good for him.

Track of Distinction: “My Mind Is For Sale” has a really fun island vibe that proves sometimes giving zero fucks can result in good music.

macklemore_geminiArtist: Macklemore
Album: ‘Gemini
Year: 2017

Macklemore, I’ll give you tens of my dollars to get Ryan Lewis back to making your beats. I don’t know what was going on with this album but it sounded like a huge regression in both time and talent. Sure, that kind of garage beat underground sound might work for the unknowns, but for someone like Macklemore who has a brand and a reputation to uphold, this is a huge step backward. He can still rhyme, but

Track of Distinction: “Intentions” is a softer beat but it has real heart. Shame I could have made the backing mix.

the_killers_-_wonderful_wonderfulArtist: The Killers
Album: ‘Wonderful Wonderful
Year: 2017

I have to give it to a band that is still trying to outrun its debut success by putting out album after album of music that is equally as ambitious but not nearly as catchy. Earlier this year, as their breakout hit celebrated its 14th year on the charts, I came to this album and found that not much has changed; the band still puts out good music, it sells rather well, but the hook is missing. Like in nature, you’re not going to catch much without a damn hook.

Track of Distinction: “Rut” is the anthem we all need from time to time.

4-44_album_coverArtist: Jay-Z
Album: ‘4:44
Year: 2017

One of the things that kinda turns me off from rap music is all the beef. It’s almost a full time job following who is arguing with whom and for what reason, who made up with whom and why, who are the mortal enemies, and who is in the right. I need a goddamn scorecard to follow this shit and this album doesn’t make it any easier. I couldn’t enjoy it the way I should have been because I’m wondering who the fuck he’s talking about on nearly every track. Sure, I know that he cheated on Beyonce and apologized for it, but that’s it. You shouldn’t have to watch TMZ every night to appreciate a piece of music.

Track of Distinction: “The Story of OJ” is about the two ways of living rich in America and how  we often regret the things we both can and cannot control.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.